Pittsburgh Curly

A Curly Girl in da ‘Burgh

Archive for January 20th, 2009

Sometimes we’re all role models

Posted by pittsburghcurly on January 20, 2009

I have a part time job that involves quite a bit of chatting with the public. You get to know some of your customers a bit, and it can be fun to chat and discuss things. I seem to have a good fan club in the 12 and under age range. Hey, I’m chatty and giving away free food and juice. Kids like that. There are some curly kids in the mix, and some of them wil mention that “My hair is like yours.” I had found it cute, but I hadn’t really put any deep thought into it.

On Christmas week, I had my hair blown out straight. I like to do it a few times a year in the winter. I like the change, and it’s interesting to see how long my hair actually is when not caught up in the shrinkage that is curly hair.

I’m at work, doing my thing, and I hear a loud cry of, “Oh Nooooooooooooooooo! Where’s your Cuuurrrrlllllsss?!”

I turn and see a young curly who is a customer at work.  She looks aghast at me; chin dropped, mouth agape. She is a precocious tween, and one who loves her delightful head of curls. We’ve chatted about curly hair before, and I enjoy her curl positive attitude.

I found it odd to be in a position where I had to explain to her that, no, I didn’t have a relaxer and that my curls would be back in a few days when I got my hair wet again.

I saw her again today, her curly head happily bouncing in to see what we had going on. She was happy to see my hair in its natural, curly, state and told me so. She said that she would have been sad if I made in permanently straight.

It was a strange moment. I really hadn’t thought that young curlies might like to see curly adults, but why not? We all want to see a part of ourselves somewhere, don’t we? So, today, I was proud to let my curls loose for all of the young curlies out there who need to see more adults wearing their curls out.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged: | 7 Comments »