Pittsburgh Curly

A Curly Girl in da ‘Burgh

Ow, My Eye!!!

Posted by pittsburghcurly on May 25, 2009

Iritis

Iritis

Hello!

After a lengthy absence, I am back.

I am dealing with a stubborn case of iritis (which even was made more interesting my getting synechiae where my pupil was shaped like a four leaf clover and a figure eight at one point) right now. It’s seems that I have a quirky sixth chromosome. For about 6 weeks, my vision was totally blurred, and the light hurt like hell. Now I am recovering. While the right side of my visual field is still a fog, partly from the inflammation and partly from near constant use of dilating drops, I find that I am getting used to functioning with just my left eye, although my close up depth perception is still off. So, after some missed worked, lots of time hiding in dark room, and lots of time not anywhere near a computer, I am glad to be back and able to post again.

I have a few topics that I would love to cover, and I hope to get back to semi-regular posting soon.

On the upside, I find that having curls did help. I couldn’t imagine trying to mess with flat irons and blow dryers during all this. Having wash and go hair really came in handy!

5 Responses to “Ow, My Eye!!!”

  1. R said

    I have suffered with iritis for the past 8 years, and am having my worst flare in years right now. I totally understand your pain, and I am so sorry to hear that you are going through it. Good luck, and hold on tight to your eye patch ;-)

  2. pittsburghcurly said

    Wow, sorry to hear that. My brother is also flaring right now, and he hasn’t had a flare in four years. I only knew about iritis because of the work up he had, and we share the HLA-B27 quirk. My opthamologist says he’s been busy this spring with iritis cases. I wonder wht it is this year?

    I do need that eye patch to function on the computer, lol.

  3. Babyfine said

    Redcelticurls, I had 2 bouts with iritis in my twenties. I couldn’t figure out what was going on. My eye got super red but Visine, ect made it worse!! I went to an ophomologist and he gave me drops that got rid of it- got it again a couple of years later and again got drops. Haven’t had it again and I/m now 53.
    He told me it was an auto-immune disorder and I may or may not get it again. I have had other auto immune problems since, maybe they just decided to move to another part of my body!

  4. pittsburghcurly said

    I’m still getting the work-up right now for autoimmune stuff. Their best guess is sarcoidosis right now. My HLA results are still pending.

    I’m just amazed at how long these flares can last! My eye still has hazy vision in that eye although I an tapering off of the prednisone. Weird.

    It does help to see that others have had it. In real life, the only person I know who has had this is my brother.

  5. Babyfine said

    Mine was faily mild, both times thank goodness. But my eye got REALLY red- far worse than than it did with tiredness, chrlorine pools, ect. And using eye drops hurt, which was what made me go to the doctor. I had no idea at first what was wrong with me- I’d never heard of iritis. I’m glad I haven’t had it again- and I hope you get over yours quickly.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

