Pittsburgh Curly

A Curly Girl in da ‘Burgh

Curls 101 page

Posted by pittsburghcurly on March 2, 2009

Hello all,

I’m working on a Curls101 page. It’s geared towards the beginner curly with common questions that they have. It’s a work in progress, and will probably take a few weeks to finish because I tend to only type so much at once. :)  Feel free to leave any comments or to ask some basic questions to cover if you’re a curly newbie.

6 Responses to “Curls 101 page”

  1. Julie said

    I am not exactly a newbie at curls, but something I wish I had heard about earlier was the stuff Tiffany posted about: porosity, texture, etc. I had heard those terms, but I didn’t learn anything practical about it until just a few days ago! So definitely include info or links to info about that :) Will definitely link to your page when it’s complete!

  2. pittsburghcurly said

    Oh, that will definitely be in there, probably towards the end since that takes some understanding of basics before moving on, though it does make product selection easier. Perhaps i’ll incorporate bits when discussing conditioners and whay types to pick

  3. Julie said

    Yeah, that makes sense. I’m making a list of CG products $5 and under on my blog, so if you all help me build that you could link to it, because I think a lot of people mistakenly think that going CG costs a fortune ;)

  4. pittsburghcurly said

    I think it depends on the individual. There are a couple of pricey things I use that I really don’t wish to part with because I do feel that they perform better for me than some of the less expensive things. But, if pressed, I could do cheap cg. Hmm, I think you just gave me an idea for my next post! :)

  5. Julie said

    Glad to be of inspiration ;). I realize that not everyone is going to want to use entirely cheap hair products all the time, but it would be a good resource. And since that’s part of what my blog is about… :)

  6. That70sHeidi said

    I ended up here surfing through NC.com boards (also in Pgh), and I’m DEFINITELY new to curls.

    ? Is there a real reason that curls respond better when washed, rinsed, and dried upside down?

    ? Why apply product to sopping wet hair then towel it out? What’s the theory behind losing some of your product when you could put less on once the hair is towel-dry?

    So far everything else I’ve been finding on the NC website, except maybe a total noob list of drugstore products to try if you want to go CG. But my hair is thinning (due to Rx) so who knows wtf I’m supposed to do with it.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

