Pittsburgh Curly

A Curly Girl in da ‘Burgh

Product Review: Curls Like Us Curl Cloths

Posted by pittsburghcurly on January 30, 2009

Curls Like Us Curl Cloth - photo from Curls Like Us site

Curls Like Us Curl Cloth - photo from Curls Like Us site

Lately, I have been playing more with air-drying my hair to cut down on split ends from diffuser drying. While I love the volume I get from diffuser drying, and the much quicker drying time, I really wanted to work with air drying to see if it would be a viable option. Previous attempts at this resulted in horrid pyramid hair. I also think I’m a little nuts for trying this out during a colder than normal January.

I had read about the Curls Like Us Curl Cloths  some months earlier over at naturallycurly.com. While I liked the idea, and was happy to see a curly woman making a curl-friendly product, I just figured that it was like any old T-shirt, and why should I have to pay for some T-shirt material? I can just use a T-shirt.

Well, fast-forward a few months. Although I have a Curlease towel that I love to use for plopping,  the material was a bit thin for scrunching moisture out of my hair, and I was in no mood to have wet hair for five hours on a cold day. My regular T-shirts were also a bit thin, and it did look ugly having wet T-shirts lying around (no snickering! :P ).

I decided to bite the bullet and purchase a set. Each set comes with two towels. There was an instruction sheet included, and I also checked out the FAQ and video on the Curls Like Us site – much of the video is pretty old hat to experienced curlies, but it did help to see how to hold and rotate the towel! I figured it couldn’t be that hard. The shape reminds me of a pillowcase that is open at both ends.

You put one hand in each end, and scrunch. Pretty simple.

I must say that I was quite surprised at how much extra water came out onto the cloth. The cloth feels thicker than all of my T-shirts, so perhaps the weight of the cloth has something to do with how well it worked. My hair is between waist and hip length when wet, and I needed about a towel and a half to do the trick. The cloth is a dark brown, and I didn’t see any hair product residue on it. I also admit that I think they’re cute.  The borders have cute curly trim in various colors. They also look better hanging on the bathroom door than a wet T-shirt does! I do love how cute they are!

Best of all, I went from shower to almost dry in one hour, and totally dry in about 90 minutes! Insane! I have had times where it took me all day to air dry, so this was a great surprise. My curl pattern and formation are about what they have been lately, and the towel didn’t make me frizz. I didn’t need to plop after I used the Cloth. I just scrunched and went on about my day.

I did balk at the price at first – I paid $24 for a set of two. But, since these should last ages (I’ve had the same Curlease for about two years) the price is negligible in the long run. I actually want the other color scheme set!

So, if any of you curlies out there are curious, I’d say it’s worth a go!

8 Responses to “Product Review: Curls Like Us Curl Cloths”

  1. Candice said

    This post is perfectly timed – I was just thinking about purchasing these but was on the fence. Your post has definitely pushed me off – I’ll be trying these! Love your blog.

  2. pittsburghcurly said

    Thank you Candice! I hope that they work out for you.

  3. pennythoughts1 said

    Does product build up on it?

  4. I’ve been going back and forth about this. I just wanted another option besides plopping because sometimes plopping pushes sections of my hair down and it’s hard to fix after. But then if I use a towel like this, would it bother me to have wet hair on my back while I’m getting ready. Sorry, just thinking out loud. I guess I just really need to buy a towel like this and see if it works better for me than plopping.

  5. pittsburghcurly said

    Pennythoughts1, not that I’ve noticed. I just was it and then air dry it, and it works fine.

  6. Jorgelina said

    Hi, just one question…do you think there’s any way you can plop with these? What I like about plopping, apart from the obvious shortcut to air-drying is that it starts drying the curls without them geeting weighed down their own weight – my longest strand is past bra strap when wet which I think makes my curls stretch down more than I like if I don’t plop.

  7. pittsburghcurly said

    Jorgelina, no, they are way to small to use for plopping. They could be used to scrunch out some extra moisture befor you do plop so you could perhaps cut down on plopping time, but they are too small to use a plopping towels themselves.

  8. Cynthia said

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THESE!!! I have tried plopping in the past, and as with any other curly hair styling method, it were unreliable-I couldn’t gaurantee what my curly locks would come out looking like. (As if you could with hair like mine, ha!) But i love how I can acheive great curl definition with absolutley zero frizz! And I have to agree- the cloths are cute as heck and its way better than using all my tee shirts or wasting paper towels! It’s one of the best $25 investments a curly girl could ever make!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

